You are here: Browse by Category > > The Land - Aotearoa - New Zealand > National Parks within New Zealand

National Parks within New Zealand

National Parks within New Zealand
National Parks within New Zealand
National Parks within New Zealand...
Covering more than 2.1 million hectares of the country, 13 of New Zealand's most beautiful areas have been set aside for total preservation in their natural state and designated national parks.

They offer vast areas of untouched wilderness where hikers, mountaineers, anglers, hunters, and flora and fauna enthusiasts are in their element.

In the North Island of New Zealand lie Te Urewera, Tongariro, Egmont, and Whanganui national parks; in the South Island, Abel Tasman, Kahurangi, Nelson Lakes, Arthur's Pass, Westland, Paparoa, Mt. Cook, Mt. Aspiring, and Fiordland national parks.

Three maritime parks, Bay of Islands and Hauraki Gulf maritime parks in the North Island and Marlborough Sounds Maritime Park in the South Island, preserve some of the most spectacular and accessible coastal scenery, and 19 forest parks, used for conservation, recreation, and timber production, contain some of the best bush scenery in the country.

All the national parks, reserves, forest parks, and state forests are under the jurisdiction of the Department of Conservation, created on 1 April 1987 by the Conservation Act. The department manages the land and wildlife, promotes the conservation of natural and historic resources, produces educational and promotional material, and fosters recreation and tourism in conjunction with conservation.

The best way to obtain information on a particular area or park is to contact the local Department of Conservation office when you arrive, or for us to get information for you and post it to you.

Can't find the item you are looking for?
Make a Request for us to get it for you